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From The Editors
Tennis court, Westwood Country Club, Washington, DC.
Venue for World Championship Challenge, 17th, 19th, 23rd September 2023

T  his issue should, of course, be a Coronation Edition, 
but regrettably, there is little within it to link to the truly 
spectacular events of 6th May, apart from a passing 

reference to Prince Edward and his attendance last November 
at the Gala Opening of the new USA court chosen to host this 
Autumn’s World Championship challenge, and which features 
above. Otherwise, the content includes, as usual, an update on 
the activities of the Academy, a number of articles regarding the 
history of the game, and, as ever, most apposite advice on tactics 
to be employed on court in the heat of the moment from our 
Honorary Professional, Nick Wood. This issue opens however on 
a sombre note, with an appreciation of a long-standing and much 
respected Dedanist.

The next edition will be in December 2023.

Alastair Robson
Martin Village
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Dr ADAM LAWRENCE – a personal memoir

Adam Lawrence died on 18th November 2022, aged 89. He was an elegant left-
handed tennis player, (and a Cambridge blue), with a fine eye for the ball. He was 
one of the earliest Dedanists, having been elected in December 2004. He studied 
medicine at Cambridge and St Thomas’s, qualified in 1962, and was a junior Hospital 
doctor there and at St Stephen’s Hospital, Chelsea. 
He then moved to the American Hospital in Paris, and played tennis in Rue 
Lauriston. Being resident in France, he was eligible to enter the ‘Racquet d’Argent’ 
in 1963 (which he won) and the ‘Racquet d’Or’ in 1964 (which he also won). He 
returned to England to further his medical career in GU medicine & HIV, at Chelsea 
& Westminster Hospital, (St 
Stephen’s modern replacement), 
and continued to play tennis at the 
RTC at Hampton Court, and at 
Queen’s. 
His recent obituary in the British 
Medical Journal reported: ‘his staff 
and patients in his clinics were 
fiercely loyal as he was a good 
boss and a kind and generous 
man. He was also full of fun and 
his clinic parties were legendary’. 
This I can well believe – he was 
very good fun indeed: at the 2017 
Trophee Édouard Kressmann in 
Fontainebleau, his partnership with 
Gil Kressmann, (Édouard’s son), 
was equally legendary – the photo 
is, as they say, self-explanatory.

                                     

At the visit by the Dedanists to 
Paris in January 2020, Adam’s 
last, after dinner on the Saturday evening with the Paris members and their spouses, 
a few of us went for a ‘nightcap’ to a small bar around the corner from the court. It 
was, after all, Burns’ Night – which the French didn’t really understand at all, (but 
then we don’t go in for Bastille Day in a big way either, so they are forgiven): chatting 
away, it transpired that our fathers were both born in Aberdeen, within a stone’s throw 
of each other! We came to understand each other perfectly – of course, it might just 
have been the Laphroaig…

The Dedanists’ Society



The following morning, Adam appeared on court un petit peu en retard – “that naughty 
Rabbie Burns” was his apology – but with some hasty rescheduling of games, he was 
included in our traditional Dedanists’ 
Sunday mini-competition – which he went 
on to win, jointly, with Rémy Salmon, the 
Paris member who, each year, invariably 
asks to be included. They had to share 
the prize, a bottle of champagne – I hadn’t 
anticipated more than one winner!

 So, a physician, a breast surgeon, an 
ENT surgeon, and a GP, are recorded in 
the rubric to the photo. Will that ever be 
repeated? I doubt it – it may become as 
legendary in Dedanist folklore as the entry 
in Wisden: ‘Lillie, caught Willey, bowled 
Dilley’. Adam would, I think, have been 
amused at such nonsense.

I conclude with the words of a fellow Dedanist, which informed me of Adam’s very sad 
demise: “We have all lost a true friend, a real character, a gentleman with ‘old school’ 
values who nevertheless managed to keep up with, and often be ahead of, the times.” 
                                                                                                                        A.M.R.
  

                                   
                                                           

                                                           
				    	
					     Paris, January 2020
              
                                             Dr Adam Lawrence (1933–2022)
                                                      REQUIESCE IN PACE				  
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THE DEDANISTS, PARIS – January 2020
        Joint Winners: Dr Rémy Salmon & Dr Adam Lawrence; 

Runner-Up: Dr David Phillips
        Prize presented by Dr Alastair Robson (match manager)

The Dedanists’ Society
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Dedanists’ fixtures
2023
Sat 10 June Cambridge MM Christie Marrion

Sun 11 June Prested MM Chris Vigrass

Sat 17 June LRTA/Hardwick MM Carl Snitcher

Wed 6 July Pro-Am/Queen’s MM Josh Farrell

Sat 8 July Oxford MM Freddy Adam

Sun 9 July Radley MM Freddy Adam

Dates for your Diary...

If you wish to 
play in any 

fixture
Please contact 

the
 Match Manager
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Wood’s Words:
More pearls of wisdom from our Honorary Professional!

Choosing the right target at the right 
time is what makes for a successful 
campaign.
 
There are many targets to hit on the real tennis 
court – The most obvious: the Dedans, Grille and 
Winning Gallery. However, these are generally high-
risk options. There are many alternative areas of 
the court that could win you the point, and that have 
a far greater success rate.
 
The secret is to reduce your errors whilst increasing 
your accuracy. Unfortunately though, too many 
players try to either ‘thread the needle’ – a Grille 
shot, or go for power or sever cut – which massively 
increases the risk; turning a winning opportunity 
into an unforced error or loss of control! Too often, 
one’s ambition and skill level are misplaced, and it 
ends in disaster!
 
Rule 1. Do not make an unforced error - hitting into 
the net or out of court.
Rule 2. Do not hand the advantage straight back to 
your opponent - hitting onto the penthouse.
 
My general advice would be to stick with an 
accurate penetrating shot to your opponent’s 
weakness - shots that reduce the chances of a 
successful retrieval; and using areas of the court 
that your opponent will struggle to get to – and even 
if they do manage to retrieve, make it so they can’t 
gain any advantage, so you pick them off on your 
next shot. This is why, of all the obvious features of 
the court, the Tambour is a great option – you don’t 
need excessive power or sever cut; the shot doesn’t 
have to be low over the net, so it is low risk with a 
high success rate. 

However, players become obsessed with hitting 
the Tambour! Watch out - when out of position – 
orientation of player to ball - a shot to the Tambour 
becomes high risk. As an alternative, a simple 
good length stroke under the winning gallery would 
suffice and is highly successful.
 
Be aware that often the best shot option is 
determined by the situation / orientation the player 
is in, and not the ambitious / predetermined 
shot. Recognise the situation you find yourself 
in and play the appropriate shot. Successfully 
predetermining the shot only comes when you can 
assuredly put yourself in the right position at the 
right time – and that takes great skill and practice!
 
Therefore, your strategy should put you at the 
Service end; then work your feet so the Tambour 
is a viable and low risk option. And if it doesn’t 
present itself, then the floor areas such as the 
above example is a highly effective way to end a 
rally, or maintain the advantage, giving you further 
opportunities to go for the Tambour.
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From the Academy
Youth development

William Flynn

Since our last Newsletter members of our Academy Squads have had an astounding run of 
successes in both junior and senior events! Will Flynn won the British Under 24 Doubles (with 
Max Trueman) and then went on to win the British U21 and U24 singles.

As well as winning the U24 Doubles event, Max Trueman crowned a great season by winning 
the Seacourt Silver Racquet and then the coveted Tuxedo Gold Racket tournaments - both 
senior prestigious events.

Rob Shenkman had a famous victory at the British Amateur, Cesca Sweet won the inaugural 
Girls U19 World Championships and Max Warner won the Category “E” handicap event. Last 
but by no means least, Cadet Squad member Caspian Rugg (age 13) won the French Junior 
Singles Championships in Fontainbleau.

The Academy goes from strength to strength!

What a Season!

MAX CASPIAN WILL

NEW TRAINING TOPS FOR ACADEMY PLAYERS



Away
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The Dedanists visited Paris in February this year; Covid preventing visits to Rue Lauriston 
since January 2020. Once the match was under way, the visitors were reminded that the 
‘pass rule’ – albeit diluted somewhat – still exists in France. What am I talking about?

If, on serving, the ball hits the service penthouse in the ordinary way but then rolls along 
the grille penthouse and continues to do so until it hits the tambour wall then a fault is called 
in the usual manner, but, back in the day, the marker would call a ‘pass’ if the ball rolled 
along the grille penthouse and  dropped on the floor in the box near the grille (the ‘pass 
court’): this rule annulled the fault, allowing the server to continue to serve in such a manner 
repeatedly – until a serve either dropped from the penthouse within the receiving court and 
so had to be played by the receiver, or if the receiver decided to make the serve good by 
taking the ball full-volley off the penthouse grille (if it had not passed beyond the penthouse 
pass line, even if, untouched, it might have dropped in the pass court). [There was another 
complicated rule in France whereby this was the case only if the receiver’s feet were within 
the receiving court – but this did not apply in England…]
In the 1980s the T&RA decided a ‘pass’ should become a fault to prevent such repeated 
serves – sometimes to the point of exasperation of all concerned (except the server) – and 
the ‘pass line’ on the floor is now called the ‘fault line’. (Of course, a serve where the ball 
lands on the pass/fault line is good).
In France, where the T&RA has no influence, one ‘pass’ is still allowed – but a second 
‘pass’ served is deemed a fault.

The ‘pass line’ on the floor is continued up the grille wall on all courts, with varying degrees 
of elegance (Oxford’s is particularly flamboyant – see photo).

From Other Courts



In the UK, the Moreton Morrell court is the only court which still retains a pass line on the 
grille penthouse [see photo] – but does not recognise a ‘pass’; Paris does not have a pass 
line on the grille penthouse [see photo] – but retains the ‘pass rule’ (just). 

 
The Moreton Morrell court: the pass line on the grille wall extends onto the grille penthouse.

 

The Paris court: the pass line does not extend onto the grille penthouse.
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From Behind the Grille
Articles mainly about the history of tennis

The Leamington Club has recently taken possession of an ancient tennis racquet [old 
spelling throughout)] with a ball attached to its strings (see photograph): it has come 
from a member, but unfortunately it is not possible to obtain its age or any of its 

provenance.
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They are identifiable by the green or red 
[standard and semi-tec, maybe?] painted insert 
in the throat, extending into the shaft of the 
handle:

I suspect Judith Lytton (later Lady Wentworth of 
Crabbet Park) in the photo above, taken about 
1911 at a guess, is playing with a Brouaye – and 
no doubt taking her (invariably male) opponent 
apart, which she did regularly.

The donated racquet is just a touch more 
crudely made and I suspect the balance is not 
as good as the Brouaye (not really possible to 
compare!). It has no identifiable maker’s marks 
(unless under the grip) and resembles more 
the English Petworth racquet of c1800-1810 
(see below). This would have been the type 
of racquet used by Wellington and Napoleon 
(neither of whom had much interest nor aptitude 
for the game – despite the one having a 
tennis court at Stratfield Saye and the other at 
Fontainebleau).

The ball is interesting: on closer inspection it 
has panels of cloth stitched in the original style 
of ball making, with lozenge-shaped panels, 
similar to the ball depicted in the bottom right-
hand corner of the ‘Plate 32’ illustration. This 
dates it to earlier than 1870, when (according 
to Julian Marshall’s ‘Annals of Tennis’) the 
modern method of stitching together two 
figure-of-eight cloth panels was introduced in 
England, although he says the original method 
persisted in France for some time longer.
Turning to the racquet: it looks less elegant 
than the Club’s Brouaye racquet in the glass 
case in the lounge –

[with apologies for the reflections of the [now 
electric] gas mantle lights…]

With its green velvet grip and elegant silver 
pommel, this is the ‘Milne presentation 
racquet’, awarded annually to the winner of the 
Varsity Match in the 1870s. It is very similar 
to another Brouaye ‘presentation racquet’, 
inscribed ‘J H Walter Balliol 1858’ on the 
silver pommel, which was sold at Christie’s by 
auction for £19,200 in 2005.

The French dominated racquet-making in 
the 1800s, and Brouaye was one of the 
best makers: Julian Marshall considered the 
Brouaye racquet was perfection – ‘as perfect 
in shape as it appears at present possible to 
imagine a racquet’. (He hadn’t met the Grays 
Xtra-Tech, of course…).
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But there is a fly in the ointment: the racquet has been 
strung in natural gut (so far so good), but (surprisingly) using 
the ‘over-under weave’ stringing method such as is in use 
today; this was introduced in about 1850, as evidenced in 
the Milne racquet, rapidly replacing the earlier technique of 
‘knotting’, where transverse strings were slightly smaller in 
diameter and wrapped once around the vertical strings, thus 
making a ‘smooth’ and ‘rough’ side; (excellent for ‘cut’, but 
had considerably less tension than ‘over-under’ stringing). 
See below:

Early racquets had grips, but after about 
1870, according to Julian Marshall, they 
did not: true enough, for Julia Lytton’s 
Brouaye doesn’t appear to have one.

So, all very confusing: is this an early 
racquet, with its narrow head and grip, 
(probably) re-strung post-1850 in the 
modern manner, or of later post-1850 
origin (possibly)?

An interesting acquisition for the Club: might anyone have any further information to assist in dating 
the racquet more accurately? Dendrochronology might be helpful.

The following books were particularly useful:

‘Annals of Tennis’ Julian Marshall (1878)

‘From Palm to Power; the evolution of the racket’ Peter Maxton (2008)

‘Real Tennis Today and Yesterday’ John Shneerson (2015)

‘Tennis and Rackets’ Lord Aberdare (2001)
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Whispers in the Galleries
Gossip and tittle-tattle from the world of tennis

The World Championship Challenge is to be played again this year 
in September, at the new tennis court at Westwood Park Country 
Club, near Washington D.C. A member from Moreton Morrell visited 
the court last November and commented in a club circular (among 
other things) that ‘the tambour is out 13 degrees, thus sending balls to 
hazard one-and-two‘.

An adviser on the building of recent new tennis courts in the UK 
observed: “460 adjacent and the hypotenuse of 753 produces the 
right angle. This would have resulted in angles of 53 and 37. They 
measured an angle of 37 which should have been 53 so ‘back to 
front’.”

This sounds like an elementary but major construction error, (was 
the builder holding the plans upside down??) and was discussed 
with Haven Pell, one of the prime instigators of the new court, at 
Leamington TCC, during his recent book promotion tour of the UK, 
who admitted the error and that explained that moves are now afoot 
to rectify the tambour angle so that balls will be deflected into the 
service area – at a cost of $15 000. (I had heard the figure $50 000 
mentioned some time earlier – but that was in conversation in a noisy 
restaurant…).

He has reported elsewhere that the same problem occurred during 
construction of the Prince’s Court in Washington (Westwood’s 
predecessor), which was solved by moving the service line at the 
receiving end 2 feet nearer the net – presumably by altering floor 
markings for hazard chases…I don’t think the World Champion and 
his challenger would have been pleased with that solution again!


